Thursday, February 21, 2019

Social Welfare Council vice chair among five sacked

The government has sacked five staffs of the Social Welfare Council (SWC) including vice chair Nil Mani Baral for their 'malicious intention'.
A cabinet meeting of February 15 had decided to remove vice chair Baral, treasurer Bir Bahadur Thagunna, members Indra Kumar Jha, Gokarna Bhatta and member secretary Dilli Prasad Bhatta, according to Communications and Information Technology Minister Gukul Banskota.
Minister Banskot – organizing a regular press meet today – said that the cabinet had decided to sack the officials for 'causing harm' to Social Welfare Council by working with 'malevolent intention' and against the law.
Banskota – who is also the government spokesperson – also informed that the government has decided carry out investigation related to financial and administrative irregularities in the Social Welfare Council according to the existing law. The case will also be sent to the Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) for action.
At a time, when the government is criticized for its inaction against the corruption, Baskota claimed that the government won’t back down from taking action against those involved in corruption.
Similarly, the government has appointed commerce secretary Kedar Bahadur Adhikari as the chairman of the Nepal Food Corporation (NFC) board. Earlier, Adhikari had served as a secretary at the Office of Prime Minister and Cabinet Secretariat for almost 2 years.
Likewise, the government has also promoted joint secretary Surya Prasad Gautam as the Financial Comptroller General and Nepal Army Colonel Ganesh Kumar Shrestha to the post of Brigadier General.
The government has also created nine temporary posts as part of the preparation to establish three medical colleges under the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology. The cabinet meeting has decided to create temporary organisational infrastructure and temporary deputation of first class officer until second week of July 2019 to run the physical infrastructure development for the medical colleges.
The government has also decided to bring five hospitals – Koshi Zonal Hospital, Narayani Sub-Regional Hospital of Birgunj, Bharatpur Hospital of Chitwan, Bheri Zonal Hospital of Nepalgunj and Dadeldhura Sub-Regional Hospital of Dadeldhura – under the federal government to provide special service, he added.
Earlier, the government had brought 11 hospitals under the federal government. 

No comments: